The National Commission for the Certification of Surgical Assistant issues the credential CSA, an acronym for the Certified Surgical Assistant. The term CSA shall apply to all persons who successfully pass the NCCSA’s Certification Examination and meets the ongoing requirements for maintaining the credential. All persons who have graduated from a CAAHEP Accredited Surgical Assistant Program, or Medical Graduates (Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Osteopathy, or Foreign Medical Graduate) who meet the NCCSA’s eligibility requirements are the target audience for the program.

Scope of Practice

Surgical Assistants assist physicians in surgery and may perform specific significant surgical tasks under “professional supervision”. (Significant surgical tasks include, but are not limited to: opening and closing surgical sites, exposure of the surgical site, harvesting grafts, dissecting tissue, removing tissue, implanting devices, altering tissues).1

Surgical Assistants may, under “professional supervision”, perform specific significant tasks which include, but are not limited to, applying and removing splints/casts, placing Foley catheters, IV’s, and arterial lines, administering local anesthesia, and other such procedures as requested and necessary.

Process of Becoming a CSA

If you believe you meet the requirement listed on our Certification Requirements page and you are ready to take the next step in your career please complete our certification application form.

Please remember that we will not be able to process your application form unless it is accompanied by the required payments.

1Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services State Operations Manual, Appendix A - Survey Protocol, Regulations and Interpretive Guidelines for Hospitals, A-0959; Interpretive Guidelines §482.51 (b)(6) -http://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/downloads/som107ap_p_ltcf.pdf

Certification Requirements

Learn about the requirements here

Certification Application

Apply to become a CSA today